Wedding update–invitations!

23 days to go!  I thought it was about time to post a quick update of what’s been going on.  All the big things have been booked for a while, so now we’re getting into the nitty gritty last minute details!  Still a couple of thank you gifts to buy, programmes to finalise and print, speeches to write, and cake order to finalise (that’s an easy one – being related to the ‘chief cakerator’ at Stiletto Studio and with a fiance who LOVES Batman, here’s a hint of what might be coming, especially now that it’s gone viral!), but lots of things being ticked off my list.

One of the biggest things was the wedding stationery!  Our ‘Save the Dates’ were relatively easy – we had some cool photos taken after my graduation outside a music shop, because their wall out the front was painted to look like sheet music.  All I had to do was add the text on the side, print them, and stick a little magnet on the back!

Wedding

As for the invitations, early on I made the decision that I would make them all myself, but I must have been nervous about it because even though I’d finalised the design early this year, it took a long time to get started on them and they ended up going out later than we intended!  I completely love the way they came out in the end though, so it was worth all the stress.

P1050829

They are sealed on the front with a custom sticker from Vistaprint, with a little logo I made up that incorporated our colours.  Once you open up the flaps…

P1050830 - Copy

Again, more sheet music! Do you sense the theme yet? Smile The text is printed on a vellum sheet (a few printing issues added to the time delay and stress levels!!), which was attached to the photo and a little flap at the top with silver brads (split pins).  This is an idea that I’ve had for years, and although it took a bit of figuring out, I think it worked well in the end! Wait – there’s more, once you lift up the photo…

P1050831P1050832 - Copy

There’s a secret pocket hiding under there! It has little cards with tabs along the top, with details of the reception, our registry, and their response.  I’m really happy with the way that the invitations pull together the colours and themes of our wedding Smile

I think this was the biggest thing I’ve ticked off my list so far -it’s certainly a good feeling to get that out of the way!  If I manage to carve out some time in the next couple of weeks I’ve got another little crafty wedding project to show you – if not, I’ll be a Mrs next time we catch up!

εїз

2 thoughts on “Wedding update–invitations!

  1. Pingback: Introducing Mr and Mrs EP! « Musical Butterfly

  2. Pingback: Looking back on ’13 « Musical Butterfly

Leave a Reply

