FOs: Crochet Blankets

Remember last week, I told you I was making something from this?

Unknown blob - before

Well, I’m all finished! Here’s the end result:

Granny square blanket

Granny square blanket

Here’s the link to my Rav page with the pattern details.  Basically its a huge crochet granny square using double crochet.

Granny square blanket

I was using up stashed yarn I’ve had for a while, a shopping bag full of unknown weight and fibre, so I just kept going until I ran out of yarn.  I was hoping I would have enough to make a blanket for my bed, but sadly no. It measures 1.2m x 1.2m so its still a pretty decent size.

While I was channelling my inner-Nanna I decided to stay on the crochet path and try out a pin I saw on Pinterest last week.

Crochet edging

I had a big piece of woven fabric that I was going to bind with ribbon to turn into a proper blanket, but I thought this was a better idea.  I used leftover yarn from my February Lady Sweater (which I haven’t shown you yet – its not quite cold enough here to get away with wearing a wollen cardigan!), and the whole thing took about two hours.  The link has a great photo tutorial, very easy to follow.

Crochet edging Crochet edging

I’m well and truly set for winter!

Crochet blankets

And, for my next project…

Upcoming project

One thought on “FOs: Crochet Blankets

  1. Pingback: 2013! « Musical Butterfly

Leave a Reply

