347 Words Per Minute

That is my reading speed, according to this online speed reading test.  Why don’t you take the test, and let me know what your score is?

You may be wondering what made me test this….

It has come to my attention that i’ve read an awful lot of books in recent months.  This is because I used to go to sleep with the TV on in my room – I hit snooze for 30 or 60 minutes (depending how tired I was!) so it turned itself off after I was asleep.  But when I moved into my new flat that wasn’t possible anymore (possibly due to the fact that I dropped the TV when I was moving… ahem…) so I took up reading before going to sleep.  Its amazing how many books you can get through with no other distractions, and at just a chapter or so each night!

Here’s what i’ve read, since about July…

P1020831

  • Jack and Jill by James Patterson
  • The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer
  • Sizzling Sixteen by Janet Evanovich
  • Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer
  • False Memory by Dean Koontz
  • Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
  • Stolen by Lesley Pearse
  • Promises To Keep by Jane Green

I found another couple of books on sale recently to add to my reading pile – though they are Christmas presents from Andrew so I won’t be able to get into them until early next year.

~ ~ ~ ~

What’s your bedtime routine? Do you read, or watch TV, or do something else to help you get to sleep – or are you one of those lucky people who can just turn off the light, put your head down and hit sleepy town straight away?

~Trina ~

2 thoughts on “347 Words Per Minute

  1. You’ve read a heck of a lot of books! Out of the ones that you listed which were your top 3? I’m trying to find a few books to read over the holidays. I’ve read 2 so far…but they are both quite similar…maybe the ones you’ve listed might offer a bit of variety lol 🙂

    • Yeah I have very eclectic taste when it comes to books, though I tend to go for crime/detective novels more than anything. Top three of this list would be Time Traveller’s Wife, False Memory and Promises To Keep – it has recipes at the end of each chapter!

      Which books have you read?

Leave a Reply

